April & May Reads | 2015

April wasn’t a particularly successful reading month for me so I’ve decided to write a post combining both April and May reads. April and May were two very tiring but also fulfilling months for me as I was working in two-month project in a company. I’m again starting looking for a job and at the same time I applied for some graduate programmes. Thankfully though I have my books to keep me stress free and happy.

April 2015

Paris for One by Jojo Moyes

24389206

As I have mentioned before Me Before You by Jojo Moyes is one of my favourite books. So when I saw this little novella in the bookstore for only 1 euro I bought it immediately. It was a sweet little story about a girl who spends a weekend in Paris. I found thecharacters funny and interesting and perfect for the role they were “playing”. Funny dialogues and a nice overall story message.

Rating: 4 stars

Full House by Maeve Binchy

13125739

I wanted to read something by this author for quite a while now and this was one that was short and very cheap, only

1.5euros, so I’ve picked it up and started reading it immediately. The story revolves around a family that has three grown up children who continue living in their parents house but they pay no rent or contribute in the house expenses. It had an interesting premise and it was overall an enjoyable read but for me it got a bit too sweet and a bit preaching at times. Nevertheless I want to try more from Maeve Binchy especially her books Evening Class and Circle of Friends.

Rating: 3 stars

Bound Feet/Lotus Feet by Li Kunwu

17673034

Everyone on the internet and on booktube is talking about graphic novels so I’ve decided to pick one up myself and see how I feel about them. This graphic novel tells the story of a woman who as a young girl is forced to bind her feet so she would be able to increase her chances for a better life. We read about her life as the history of China unfolds too. It was such an interesting topic and it does touches themes about the abuses that women have been facing throughout history. But apart from that it is still a heartwreching story of a young girl who wasn’t to blame for the things that were forced in her life. I’ll admit that I was in tears when I finished the book. Unfortunately this graphic novel hasn’t been translated in english yet. I read it in greek. I know that you can find it in the original chinese and also translated in french and spanish. If you find the opportunity I would highly recommend that you read it.

Rating: 5 stars

May 2015

The One Plus One by Jojo Moyes

23162121

Another Jojo Moyes book! I regret nothing! I really like her writing style and the fact that you can easily get into the story and follow characters that in the end you just care about them and you want for them to be ok, to be happy above all. That was the case here too. We follow the story of Jess a young mother of two who is working two jobs and Ed a guy that he may have his own company but has his own problems to deal with. I found the characters very interesting and I found myself being sympathetic of them especially towards the kids. There were moments that I think the story could have moved faster and sometimes some story “tropes” were used but overall I would definitely recommend it if you want something easy to relax while reading it.

Rating: 4 stars

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

5499874

I’ve never read anything by Neil Gaiman before reading The Graveyard Book. There, I said it! Everyone seems to love this author and when I found this book in a book bazaar I’ve picked it up and finally I read it a couple of weeks ago. It is a modern retelling of the Jungle Book but instead of animals we have ghosts that have taking up caring for the boy. It is essentially a coming of age story which feels you with warmth and sentimental feelings. I would really like to know more about some of the characters’ back stories and their place in this new “death world” if I can call it that. Also I wanted to learn more about that “death world” itself, its rules, its creatures etc. But I do understand that probably that wasn’t where the focus of the story was meant to be.

Rating: 3.5 stars

Excursion to Tindari by Andrea Camilleri

829794

Ohh the Inspector Montalbano series how much I adore them. Not a single disappointment so far. I adore Inpector Montalbano as a character, I love all the peripheral characters like Fatzio, Mimi, Catarella etc. The dialogues are funny and quirky, the interactions between the characters are great and you have a mystery that keeps you invested in the story too. If you already like crime-mystery books I highly recommend checking out a book by this series. If you’re new to this genre and you don’t know where to start, start from these books. They are short, funny, poignant and with amazing characters.

Rating: 4 stars 

Asterix and the Picts by Jean-Yves Ferri and Didier Conrad

18211116

As a kid but as an adult too I loved reading the Asterics comics. I think it was my mom that introduced me and my brother to these comics giving us some of her old copies to read. The original stories by Goscinny and Uderzo  had that certain warmth in them. They weren’t only funny but also educational and full of emotions. This one was enjoyable but I felt that it lacked a bit of the warmth that the originals had. All in all I was still glad that I was back in this world even for a little while.

Rating: 3 stars

(pictures from goodreads.com, header image originally from here xx)

5 thoughts on “April & May Reads | 2015

Leave a Reply

