February Reads | 2015

February ends, March begins and it’s time for another wrap-up of the books I’ve read this month. February wasn’t as successful as January book-wise but nevertheless I still managed to read three books. So let’s start!

1. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

10598750

It took me awhile to read and finish this famous classic novel by Charlotte Brontë. Probably almost everyone is familiar with this story, the story about an orphan woman who seeks job as a governess in the mansion of Thornfield Hall where she falls in love with her secretive master. Although that’s the main story it is not simply a love story about an innocent girl falling in love with a man. It is also about this girl who despite the hardships that has faced remains strong and independent and able to support herself. The first and third part of the book were the most interesting for me, I found that in the middle part kind of slow. For some reason the very first parts where we see the early years of our protagonist was my favourite. After reading the book I can understand why it is among the most beloved.

Rating: 4 stars 

2. 3. Cinder and Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

PicMonkey Collage

In February I jumped on the wagon that is The Lunar Chronicles. I read back to back the first two books of the series and I’m currently reading the third one called Cress. These books are fairytale retellings which basically means that they take the main story of a popular fairytale and they give them a twist. So here we are in the far future where humans, androids and cyborgs all co-exist in Earth. The Moon, called Luna, is also inhabitant by mysterious people with the power to control minds. The story begins with Cinder, a cyborg who works as a mechanic in New Beijing. What to expect? Sci-fi elements, evil queens, beautiful boys, strong female characters, battles, fast paced reads. I enjoyed both books but I do believe that they could be shorter. Some things for me were kind of predictable but nevertheless I still enjoyed reading them and I’m excited to see what happens next and how everything will end.

Side note: Cinder is a retelling of Cinderella, Scarlet of The Red Riding Hood, Cress of Rapunzel and Winter of Snow White.

Rating: 3,5 for both

( pictures found on goodreads, feature image found here xx )

4 thoughts on “February Reads | 2015

  1. snow says:

    Oh wow…..kudos to you for reading so many books…I completed only one during a break of 3 weeks 😉
    But I want to read more and more….I hope your posts about books will inspire me to do that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

