January Reads | 2015

The last years I’ve been taking part in the Goodreads Reading Challenge. This year I’ve challenged myself to read at least 20 books. That although doesn’t mean that hitting that 20 would be my sole purpose. I did that in the past and it took so much out from my reading pleasure. For me this number is just a way to motivate myself to pick up books to read. On that note I thought I would do a January wrap-up of the books that I’ve read last month.

1.  The Ingredients of Love by Nicolas Barreau 15793153 A sweet little story about a young woman in Paris that reads the right book at the right time. A book that changes her life. This was a book I’ve started in 2014 and finished the first days of January. It’s a sweet romantic story that kept me well entertained. But it wasn’t without flaws. At times it was overly-sweet, unrealistic and the characters seemed without depth. Nevertheless an enjoyable way to spend some hours.

Rating: 3 stars 

2. Winter Solstice by RosamundePilcher 116054 This is what I call a comfort read. These kind of books always give me warm feelings inside me. It’s the books that you read curled up on a sofa under a blanket on a cold winter night. The story revolves around a group of people that somehow end up together on a small town in Scotland and they spend their Christmas together. It makes you think about love, friendship, hope and above all companionship. A great warm read.

Rating: 4 stars

3. 4. 5. Unearthly, Hallowed, Boundless by Cynthia Hand PicMonkey Collage Yes I did read the whole Unearthly series one book after the other. I didn’t intend to but it’s just happened. I’ve never read anything with angels before so that was something new for me. Mainly the story is about Clara who is a teenage angel and her purpose that she needs to fulfill. The books are fast-paced, quite well written and for once the romance between the teenagers realistic. I found the first one better than the other two but that doesn’t mean that the rest of them weren’t interesting enough. What I liked most about this story was the constant battle about doing what people expect you to do, what you’re supposed to do and what you want to do. The battle for keeping your right to choose in life.

Rating: 4 stars, 3.5 stars and 3.5 stars

6. Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok 10555924 Kimberly and her mom immigrate from Hong Kong to New York and we follow their lives for the next decade. We get a glimpse of what it means to be an immigrant, to be poor, to struggle, to feel like you don’t belong, to grow up. But we also see what determination and hard work does. A well-written story, with an interesting use of language and Chinese idiomatic expressions that really touched my heart. I cried reading the last 10 pages. Definitely recommend it.

Rating: 4 stars

Overall a good reading month. Let’s see what will February bring us!

( pictures found on goodreads, feature image found here xx )

Leave a Reply

