Song of the Week | Expiration Date by Tablo

I’m not going to be able to post anything for a week so I wanted to leave my little blog with this as my last post.

This song is one of the earliest korean songs that I’ve listened to. I really like how they combined the lyrics and the music with Tablo’s  soft voice.

The meaning of the lyrics is amazing. How sometimes you feel like you are all alone and no one actually cares about you. I imagine like being someone who might have friends, and interests, and he/she goes out and has a good time and people seem to like him/her but at the end of the day there is this feeling inside them. A little voice that says “Would anyone care if I wasn’t here? Would anyone wonder if I didn’t show up?”.

My favourite part is when it says:

I’m afraid I’ll be a book that no one reads
Music that no one listens to anymore
I’m afraid I’ll be abandoned like a movie playing in an empty theater

But my most favourite part is when he says 안녕 (Annyong/Hello-Goodbye). My heart just stops a little bit every time I listen to this part.

I have noticed, and probably it is only me who feels that way, that this word sounds so sad. Like it hides some pain between its letters. Every time, when it’s not used to talk to kids, I find that it has a finality the way it sounds. I don’t know, I’m probably imagining things..

(picture originally from here xx)

Leave a Reply

