Biscuit Teacher and Star Candy | Ep 1-4 | First Impressions

So as you’ve probably have guessed by now my new obsession is Gong Hyo Jin. Master’s Sun is the first drama that I’ve seen her and because I liked her acting so much I started watching The Greatest Love (note-I’m half way through it and I’m still not sure how I feel about it,more in an up-coming post). But that wasn’t enough for me so I started watching Biscuit Teacher and Star Candy. I mean I’m on a roller coaster that doesn’t stop. Anyway Biscuit Teacher and Star Candy was a drama I had on my radar since for ever and now apparently was the time to start it.

The story follows Na Bo Ri,played by Gong Hyo Jin, an infamous ex high school student who was expelled from school because of a misunderstanding and now as a teacher wants to start working at her old school. The reason? She wants to be close to her ex art teacher. The story also follows Park Tae In,played by Gong Yoo, a troublemaker high school student. He is the reason that Bo Ri is hired in her old high school. She has to keep an eye on him to avoid all troubles. And this is how the story unfolds.

The Pros

I love love love Na Bo Ri. Her character and obviously her portrayal by Gong Hyo Jin. She is beautiful, funny, strong, bright, unafraid, speaks her mind and misunderstood,unfortunately this last one. I just adore her to pieces. I do find that there is more in her returning to her old high school. The art teacher might be one reason but I do feel like she wants to prove to the people that misunderstood her that “Look at me, I’m still fighting, I didn’t give up ye!”. Na Bo Ri, fighting!

bt2

Interesting story line so far. I’m just a sucker for stories that someone is the reason for someone’s else change in life. I like people that inspire and help others. Like Bo Ri is for Tae In. And I guess she will be for the other students too.

Also I like high school dramas but good high school dramas and I think this is a good one. It seems so so far. Kids having problems and a teacher being their shelter, these stories speak to my heart.

The character of Tea San. He is an interesting person and even in these first four episodes we can see that he is not quite as he appears to be. He has many layers to unravel and I’m already invested in his journey and his story. So far what I get from him is that he desperately needs a mother-like figure in his life. Having lost his mother at such a young age and in the way it happened and on top of that having a father like his he is in need of someone to take care of him, and most importantly for someone to listen to him, understand him and tell him that everything’s gonna be ok. Just like a mother would do. And I think in the beginning that’s how he is gonna see Bo Ri. I guess later will come the teenage love, and as he is maturing we will see this teenage love changing into the love of a man for a woman. I just can’t wait for all these to happen.

tumblr_lor5zrLrgJ1qfhoylo1_500

The Cons 

Well the “fight scenes” are a bit corny. But I do understand their point. They want to show us that people and especially younger people (like high schoolers) might sometimes misunderstand some situations or make something “bigger” than it actually is. It does want to show how Bo Ri was misunderstood in the past and well in the present so I can overlook them I guess.

Lastly about the students. I mean really is this how students treat their teachers? Really? Really? How they can do such horrible things and not get punished? It frustrates me beyond words.

Overall I have highly enjoyed these first episodes, I’m already invested in these characters’ stories and I’m off to watch another episode!

Biscuit-Teacher-and-Star-Candy-korean-dramas-32447573-1280-720

 

 

Leave a Reply

